30 Days of Buffy Day 3: Favorite Song Used in an Episode

I really only think of the music that was used in the first three seasons, sometimes the fourth and whenever the Scoobies end up back at the Bronze in the later year when I think of episodic music.  So much great music and so many great artists would not have been heard if it weren’t for the Bronze being the local scene.

Cibo Matto has some great music in the second season episode When She Was Bad.  But my all-time favorite song is by Dingoes at My Baby, otherwise known as Four Star Mary, called Pain.

The first time it’s heard is in Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered (?), when Willow is so excited that she gets to have a Valentine’s Day with her new boyfriend, Oz.  And she brags about how he wrote that song just for her.

It’s a little funny, when you think of the lyrics:

Feeling I’ve been lost for years,
You can never understand me,
Unless you’ve seen those tears,
But you never get to sleep when I’m away,
I don’t mind the deeper that you lay,
Out of time,
Pain. I can’t sleep.,
Pain. I can’t sleep.,
Running, running from those days,
There’s another one inside me,
Guess I’ve gone insane,
But you always run away when I come around,
I don’t mind the day I’ll track you down,
Pain. I can’t sleep.,
Pain. I can’t sleep.,
Don’t stop. Don’t talk. Do not f**k with me.,
Don’t stop. Don’t talk. Do not f**k with me.,
Loaded, loaded up this gun,
There’s a killer in me,
Hoping, hope that you’re the one,
But you always run away when I come around,
I don’t mind the day I’ll track you down,
Terrify,
Pain. I can’t sleep.,
Pain. I can’t sleep.,
Pain. I can’t sleep.

But maybe it’s appropriate, given that he’s a werewolf and she’s a budding witch.

Leave a Reply

