30 Days of Buffy Day 5: Least Favorite Female Character

I’m trying very hard not to say Kennedy, as I really found her unlikable, as does most of the Buffy-loving world, in my opinion.  I think I loved Tara so much for Willow, and Oz before that, that Kennedy seems like just another girl, not really the kind to involve yourself with forever.

Dawn was always a character I didn’t care for in season 5.  She was whiny and new, and that made her the outsider.  But then again, most new characters that come in have to go through some sort of hazing period before they became okay and acceptable.

There was Riley‘s new wife that showed up in “As You Were.”  She was the type that wanted to be accepted, felt like she knew everyone from Riley talking so much about them, but Buffy was almost obligated to dislike her.  No one knew where she came from just because Riley had been MIA for at least a year by then.

And then… there’s Kendra.  The first Slayer that was called after Buffy died the first time.  She was very by the books, and genuinely annoyed Buffy because she was very much a classic Slayer and much less a renegade.  Also, she had a horrible accent of unknown origin.

So, out of the four women I disliked, unfortunately, I’m going to have to go with my original instinct and choose Kennedy.  Not only was she not Tara, which was the reason for her character, but she was just very forward and obnoxious and bratty.

I don’t know if it was the character or the way the actor played the character, but I just could not stand her.  Even after I’ve seen the series several times through, I just can’t bring myself to like her.

I think Kennedy takes Willow to new, open places, which, I’ll admit, is good for Willow.  Life does go on, and there are people out there who are open and ready to take you to new places.

But I still don’t like Kennedy.

Sorry Kennedy.

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Buffy Day 5: Least Favorite Female Character

  1. My favorite character was Tara. So after she was killed I turned off “Buffy” and never watched it again. So I really have no opinion on Kennedy. But I am sure I would have hated her.

Leave a Reply

