30 Days of Buffy Day 6: Favorite Male Character

GilesXander.  Spike.  Angel.  On a show where there are so many strong female characters it’s sometimes difficult to find really strong, worthy male characters.  Each one has their own special thing about them that makes them great.

Although I love the Spike/Angel banter and each individual relationship they have with Buffy, I am going to have to eliminate both vampires.  Vampires with souls are hilarious, and they both have some great lines on both Angel and Buffy when it comes to Buffy.

That leaves Giles and Xander.

Both have amazing lines.  Both have been huge influences in Buffy’s life and have helped her in the Scooby gang since the beginning.

Giles is the father figure of the group, and for Buffy.  And he was The Ripper.  He has counseled all the Scoobies at one time or another and really was an influential part of the gang.

However, I’m going to go with Xander.

Xander is like the boy next door and brother and personal hero all rolled into one.  He’s a civilian, and the speech he makes to Dawn in “Potential” nails down why exactly he is my favorite character:

Xander: Seven years, Dawn. Working with the slayer. Seeing my friends get more and more powerful. A witch. A demon. Hell, I could fit Oz in my shaving kit, but come a full moon, he had a wolfy mojo not to be messed with. Powerful. All of them. And I’m the guy who fixes the windows…. They’ll never know how tough it is, Dawnie, to be the one who isn’t chosen. To live so near to the spotlight and never step in it. But I know. I see more than anybody realizes because nobody’s watching me. I saw you last night. I see you working here today. You’re not special. You’re extraordinary.

Dawn: Maybe that’s your power.

Xander: What?

Dawn: Seeing.  Knowing.

Xander: Maybe it is.  Maybe I should get a cape.

Also, he stopped Willow from destroying the world.  And that way pretty cool.

4 thoughts on “30 Days of Buffy Day 6: Favorite Male Character

  1. Pingback: Buffy’s Birthdays and Me « tvhappyplace

  2. Pingback: Monday Man: Xander Harris « Emmie Mears

  3. Pingback: Monday Man: Rupert Giles « Emmie Mears

  4. Pingback: Xander Harris: Unsung Hero - GeekErgoSum

Leave a Reply

