Faith… starts with F

Oh, Faith, how I love thee, let me count the ways.

Faith is one of my all time favorite characters of the Buffyverse.  And it’s not because I absolutely adore Eliza Dushku, because I do.  It’s that Faith is the antithesis of Buffy.  I love Buffy as a character, but Faith is the darkside.  Anything you ever wondered if Buffy could or would do, Faith has already done it.

Faith isn’t supposed to exist with Buffy.  Buffy died.  The Kendra was called, thus beginning the two Slayer game.  Then Kendra died, and Faith enters into the picture.  Buffy and Faith never get along.  In the beginning, Faith tries dragging Buffy to the darkside by showing her how to party like a rockstar, and Buffy enjoys it until Faith takes it a step too far and kills a civilian.  Then Faith spirals and really turns evil.

She does eventually find redemption with the help of Angel, and reappears in Sunnydale when she finds out the First is trying to kill off and end the Slayer line.

As much as I love evil, season 3 Faith who is the hard partier and the anti-but-wannabe-Buffy, I love season 7 Faith so much more because she found redemption but STILL doesn’t get along with Buffy.  But they try, for the sake of humanity and their Slayerhood.  And they have such great chemistry – it’s like their sisters, “but with really different hair” (Cordelia, Season 2, Reptile Boy).

Some of my favorite Faith quotes:

Are you the bad Slayer now?  Am I the good Slayer now?

And this exchange kills me everytime because it tells everything.  It explains their whole story.  And it’s funny.

Faith:  Okay, the point. Me, by myself, all the time. I’m looking at you, everything you have and, I don’t know…  jealous. Then there I am, everybody’s looking to me, trusting me to lead them and I’ve never felt so alone in my entire life.

Buffy: Yeah.

Faith:  And that’s you everyday, isn’t it?

Buffy:   I love my friends. I’m very grateful for them. But that’s the price of being a Slayer.

Faith: There’s only supposed to be one. Maybe that’s why you and I can never get along. We’re not supposed to exist together.

Buffy:  Also, you went evil and were killing people.

Faith:  Good point.  Also a factor.

Buffy:  But you’re right. I mean, I guess everyone’s alone but being a Slayer? There’s a burden we can’t share.

Faith: And no one else can feel it. (beat) Thank god we’re hot chicks with superpowers.

Buffy:  Takes the edge off.

So, Faith.  Love her.

2 thoughts on “Faith… starts with F

  1. I sure don’t know anything about this series. I’m trying to visit all the A-Z Challenge Blogs this month. My alphabet is at myqualityday.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

